Chakras and Health

Chakra is a Sanskrit word means ‘wheel’. Chakras are circular energy vortexes in the body, which spin like a wheel. Chakras are powerful energy vortexes connected to your physical body. Each one relates to different organs of your body, different aspects of your being. When they are open and flowing, everything works in harmony. When they are closed you feel unwell, you may have dis-ease or illness.

The seven chakras

Root Chakra–Red Color

The first of the seven energy centers. The root chakra is located at the base of the spine at the tailbone in back, and the pubic bone in front. This center holds the basic needs for survival, security and safety. The root chakra is powerfully related to our contact with Mother Earth, providing us with the ability to be grounded into the earth plane. This Chakra is associated with your legs, feet, bones, large intestine and adrenal glands. Blockage may manifest as paranoia, fear, insecurity, and defensiveness.

Sacral Chakra - Orange Color

Orange is the color of your second chakra, which is located below the navel. The main energy of this color is creativity and feelings. It is located two inches below the navel and is rooted into the spine. This chakra represents desire, pleasure, sexuality, procreation and creativity. It is associated with your lower abdomen, kidneys, bladder, circulatory system and your reproductive organs and glands. Proper balance in this chakra means the ability to flow with emotions freely. Blockage may manifests as emotional problems, compulsive or obsessive behaviour and sexual guilt.

Solar Plexus Chakra - Yellow Color

The centre of our being - the color of sunshine and the color of the third energy centre. This chakra is concerned with your digestive system, muscles, pancreas and adrenals. It is the seat of your emotional life. Feelings of personal power, laughter, joy and anger are associated with this center. Your sensitivity, ambition and ability to achieve are stored here. Blockage may manifest as anger frustration.

Heart Chakra - Green Color

Green is the color of heart chakra. It is the color of healing, balance, tranquility, and serenity. Green brings wholeness to our lives and it is the color most frequently found in nature. Heart is the seat of balance or you can say it is the bridge between three upper chakras and the three physical chakras down. It is the centre of love, compassion, harmony and peace. This Chakra is Associated with your lungs, heart, arms hands and thymus gland. Blockage can show itself as immune system, lung and heart problems, or manifest as inhumanity, lack of compassion or unprincipled behaviour.

Throat Chakra - Blue Color

The throat chakra is the fifth chakra and its color is blue. It is located within the throat. It is the Chakra of communication, creativity, self-expression and judgement. It is associated with your neck, shoulders, arms, hands, thyroid and parathyroid glands. It is concerned with the senses of inner and outer hearing, transformation and purification. Blockage can show up as creative blocks, dishonesty or general problems in communicating ones needs to others.

Third Eye Chakra - Indigo Color

Indigo is the color of the sixth energy centre - your third eye chakra. It is the color that opens the consciousness and brings awareness to higher planes and connects us with the spiritual world. The third eye is associated with pituitary gland and it governs the left eye and ears. It is located at the center of your forehead at eye level or slightly above. This Chakra is used to question the spiritual nature of our life. It is the Chakra of question, perception and knowing. It is concerned with inner vision, intuition and wisdom. Blockage may manifest as problems like lack of foresight, mental rigidity, ‘selective’ memory and depression.

Crown Chakra - Violet Color

Violet is the color of the crown chakra and it is the color of cosmic awareness and cosmic consciousness. It is a unifying color, the color of oneness and spirituality. The energy of this color is very healing and can soothe away pain. The crown chakra is associated with pineal and endocrine gland and it governs the upper bain and and eye. Blockage can manifest as psychological problems.

Chakra Balancing

Simple Ways to Balance Your Chakras.

Chakra Balancing forms the basis of an ancient Indian approach to healing our physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual selves.
Ancient healers believed that the aura holds the key to a person’s physical, mental, emotional and spiritual states. By maintaining an open and smooth flowing channel of energy through our chakras, by freeing ourselves of the mental or emotional traumas that can cause blockages, we can pre-empt the onset of physical dis-ease. This smooth flow of energy is also the basis of chakra healing and chakra healing attunements which really is chakra balancing.
You can also think of the chakras as individual gears in an interconnections structure of cogged wheels. Imagine what would happen if one of these wheels revolved too fast or too slowly in comparison with the others. The entire system would become unbalanced and would have to be re-aligned before it could work properly again. Our chakras become dysfunctional, not only through being too open but also by vibrating or spinning, sluggishly. Always remember to think of the chakra system in its entirety and how each one works in harmony with the others, to bring you to a complete sense of well-being. When all seven chakras are spinning in harmony, at the same speed, the system runs smoothly, as a single mechanism.

Methods of Chakra balancing

1. Physical Exercise –

The physical exercises suggested for each chakra are largely based on yoga movements.

2. Meditation –

Meditation offers the rare opportunity to be still and silent and able to hear that inner wisdom and intuition. When the mind is calm you can sense where physical pain originates and “feel” where a particular chakra might be out of balance.

3. Daily Questions –

Knowledge is power. The more we understand ourselves the better we are to make positive changes in our lives. The questions that relate to each chakra’s life challenge will help you pick the ways in which you sabotage your happiness and well-being. They will also help you to determine how to bring about those physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual changes that will assist the more effective functioning of your chakras.

4. Affirmations –

These positive sentences tell our brain that we are choosing to think differently about a particular life challenge. And, the more we speak and think these beneficial; optimistic messages to ourselves – the greater our chances of changing old, inappropriate, patterns of thought and behaviour which will aid in chakra balancing.

5. Aromatherapy –

The essential oils of plants and flowers are used to heal, beatify, and boost emotional and spiritual well-being. These essences can assist in vibrational healing since they contain the energy of the plant which interacts with our own energy to simulate, subdue, or provide chakra balancing.

6. Healing Music -

The vibrations of music interact with our energy. Modern Chakra takes a look at how healing music can be used to support your well-being.

Get ready to explore your 7 chakras through physical exercises meditation, massage and yoga daily questions, affirmations aromatherapy and healing music at Namaste Yoga.
Namaste Yoga